Navigation Menu+


The fourth chakra, the heart chakra (Anahata), is located at our heart center and is where we process and store emotional experiences. This chakra relates to our sense of selflessness, love, and devotion. A balanced fourth chakra puts us in touch with our sense of empathy and brings:

• compassion and a willingness to share and give
• a connection to those we love
• a sense of hope and inspiration

Basic issues: love, kindness, compassion, relationships, self-acceptance, forgiveness, hope, sympathy, empathy

Associated body parts: heart, lungs, diaphragm, chest, breasts, thymus, circulatory system, shoulders, arms, hands

Emotional Issues: sorrow, depression, resentment, suspicion, possessiveness, dependency

Physical Issues: stroke, cardiovascular and respiratory problems, breast health, arthritis

Sanskrit: Anahata
center of chest
Color: green and/or pink
Element: air
Sense: touch
Mantra: yam
Food: green vegetables (eg. greens, leafy vegetables)
Gemstones and crystals: malachite, rose quartz
Essential oils: marjoram, neroli, rose
Flower essences: bleeding heart, holly, wild rose
Yoga asana: Bhujangasana (cobra pose)
Beneficial activities: volunteering, romantic poetry, books, and movies